UK opens eGates to more travelers

UK allows travelers from seven non-EU countries to use ePassport gates.

Eligible travelers from the United States, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Japan, Singapore and South Korea are now allowed to enter the United Kingdom via ePassport gates at UK airports and Eurostar terminals. Citizens from the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland can continue using eGates. The new regulation will help reduce waiting times at UK borders.

Who can use eGates to enter the UK?

EGates may be used by travelers ages 12 and older with an ePassport (look for the chip logo on the front) issued by a country in the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland. The EEA includes all EU countries and Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. From June 2019, citizens of the USA, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Japan, Singapore and South Korea can start using eGates, too. Travelers ages 12 to 17 must be accompanied by an adult.

How does it work?

Travelers will be able to scan ePassports at 14 ports and control locations. EGates use facial-recognition technology to check travelers’ faces against the images stored in the passport chip. The gate will open automatically within a few seconds to admit eligible travelers into the country. Ineligible travelers will require further processing.

Before you travel

Travelers should consult the UK government’s website for current entry requirements.

Check out BCD’s Market Monitor: United Kingdom  and ask how BCD Travel can help you get travelers to emerging and established markets all over the world.

Stay in the know,
even on the go

Never want to miss a thing?

We'll get you the latest news, trends, insights and BCD news right in your inbox.