UK Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) applications now open for Qatari nationals

Nationals from the Gulf Cooperation Countries (GCC) will be first to benefit from the United Kingdom (UK) Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) scheme. Applications are now open for Qatari nationals.

Nationals from Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia can apply beginning February 2024. All GCC nationals – and Jordanians – will move from being visa nationals to non-visa nationals and the electronic visa waiver (EVW) program will end.

ETA is a digital travel permission and new requirement for passengers visiting or transiting through the UK who do not currently need a visa for short stays and do not already have any other UK immigration status before travelling. Visitors who previously entered Europe visa-free will need the authorization to get into 30 European countries.

Who will need an ETA?

  • Qatar nationals will need an ETA for traveling to the UK on or after Nov. 15. (The application system is open now.)
  • Nationals from Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia or the United Arab Emirates will need an ETA for traveling to the UK on or after Feb. 22, 2024. (Applications open Feb. 1, 2024.)
  • Nationals from other countries do no need to apply now for an ETA. More nationalities will be added at a later date.

When will an ETA be needed?

  • For travel in the UK for up to 6 months for tourism, visiting family and friends, business or study
  • For travel in the UK for up to 3 months on the Creative Worker visa concession
  • For transit through the UK even if the traveler will not go through UK border control

An ETA is not needed for people who have either:

  • a British or Irish passport
  • permission to live, work or study in the UK
  • a visa to enter the UK

People living in Ireland who are not Irish citizens will not need an ETA if all of the following apply:

  • they are legal residents of Ireland
  • they do not need a visa to enter the UK
  • they will enter the UK from Ireland, Guernsey, Jersey or the Isle of Man

The below can be used for proof of legal residency in Ireland:

  • Irish driving license
  • Irish learner permit
  • medical card
  • GP visit card
  • European Health Insurance Card
  • Irish Residence Permit
  • Permanent Residence Certificate
  • National Age Card

The document must be:

  • an original
  • issued by the Irish government
  • valid at the time of travel

Travelers under 16 will not be asked to show a document.

How to apply for an ETA

Apply on the UK ETA app, or online at gov.UK. Each traveler must get their own ETA, including children and babies. The ETA will cost £10 (USD$10.59) per applicant. Travelers may apply on behalf of others.

What travelers need to know about approved ETAs

ETAs will be electronically linked to passports. Approved ETAs will last two years. If a passport expires in less than two years, a new ETA will be needed.

The ETA can be used to make multiple visits to the UK. Travelers will need to use either an ePassport gate (if eligible) or see a Border Force officer to enter the UK.

An ETA does not guarantee entry to the UK.

New on

Stay in the know,
even on the go

Never want to miss a thing?

We'll get you the latest news, trends, insights and BCD news right in your inbox.